You are here

Stepping Stones (Peapod Farm #1) (Paperback)

Stepping Stones (Peapod Farm #1) Cover Image
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Sep 23 6:01am
(KIDS/GRAPHIC NOVELS)

Description


This contemporary middle-grade graphic novel about family and belonging from New York Times bestselling author Lucy Knisley is a perfect read for fans of Awkward and Be Prepared.

Jen is used to not getting what she wants. So suddenly moving the country and getting new stepsisters shouldn't be too much of a surprise.


Jen did not want to leave the city. She did not want to move to a farm with her mom and her mom's new boyfriend, Walter. She did not want to leave her friends and her dad.

Most of all, Jen did not want to get new "sisters," Andy and Reese.

As if learning new chores on Peapod Farm wasn't hard enough, having to deal with perfect-at-everything Andy might be the last straw for Jen. Besides cleaning the chicken coop, trying to keep up with the customers at the local farmers' market, and missing her old life, Jen has to deal with her own insecurities about this new family . . . and where she fits in.

New York Times bestselling author Lucy Knisley brings to life a story inspired from her own childhood in an amazing journey of unlikely friends, sisters, and home.

"Funny, sweet, and real." -Jennifer & Matthew Holm, co-creators of the bestselling Babymouse series

"This book is gorgeous. Highly recommended." -Kristen Gudsnuk, creator of Making Friends

About the Author


Lucy Knisley is the critically acclaimed, award-winning, New York Times bestselling comics creator of Relish and Kid Gloves. She lives in Chicago with her husband and son. She specializes in personal, confessional graphic novels and travelogues. Stepping Stones is Lucy's first graphic novel for kids. Find her online at @lucyknisley.

Praise For…


This candid, heartwarming look at a child grappling with major changes will resonate with fans of Raina Telgemeier and Svetlana Chmakova and anyone trying to find their place.” —School Library Journal, starred review

“A realistic and relatable story of tween growth.” —The Horn Book, starred review
 
“Knisley balances humor and deeply felt emotion to capture the particular unfairness of being a child at the mercy of parental decisions.” —Publisher’s Weekly
 
“Painfully realistic, this is a strong addition to the middle-grade shelf.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“A quietly charming tale.” —Booklist
 
“Jen’s awkwardness, her struggles with math, and her grudging acceptance of her new life make her a relatable heroine that readers will root for.” —The Bulletin 
Product Details
ISBN: 9781984896841
ISBN-10: 1984896849
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Publication Date: May 5th, 2020
Pages: 224
Series: Peapod Farm