You are here

Elsewhere Girls (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Elsewhere Girls Cover Image
$8.95
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Elsewhere Girls is a fresh and feminist take on time-slip novel in the tradition of The Parent Trap and Freaky Friday in which two young swimmers: one from modern-day Melbourne and the other from early 1900s Sydney swap places and must figure out how to fit into their new time zones and ultimately, to get home.

Two fabulous characters working out what matters most--I love Cat and Fan so much Sally Rippin, author of the Billie B. Brown books

This is the story of Cat and Fan. Cat has recently started at a new school on a sports scholarship, and she's feeling the pressure of early morning training sessions and the need for total commitment. Fan loves to swim and she lives for racing, but family chores and low expectations for girls make it very hard for her to fit in even the occasional training session.

Cat and Fan have never met. They both live in the same suburb, but in different worlds, or at least different times: Cat lives in the present, and Fan in 1908. But one day, time slips and they swap places. As each girl lives the other's life, with all the challenges and confusion it presents, she comes to appreciate and understand herself and the role of swimming in her own life.

Narrated in alternating chapters, Elsewhere Girls is a moving and funny story of two girls with a deep connection, one based on the Olympic champion, Fanny Durack. It's a fresh and engaging exploration of the challenges and pressures for young women growing up in the past and today.

About the Author


Emily Gale has been involved in the children's book industry for twenty years. Her books include Steal My Sunshine and The Other Side of Summer and its companion novel I Am Out with Lanterns. Nova Weetman has written thirteen books for young adults and children. Her middle grade books include the much-loved novels The Secrets We Keep, The Secrets We Share and It All Begins with Jelly Beans.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781922330451
ISBN-10: 1922330450
Publisher: Text Publishing Company
Publication Date: August 9th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English