You are here

Dreadnought (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Dreadnought Cover Image
$14.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 13 10:45am
(YOUNG ADULT/TEEN SERIES)

Staff Reviews


Danny is a 15 year old trans girl, one who has had to hide her true self until the moment a superhero dies at her feet and grants her his powers, immediately transforming her body to match the one of her dreams. Each of Danny's transformations are incredible blessings but ones that carry great cost; she has to navigate a world filled with abusive adults, sexist friends and super-powered transphobes. April Daniels is incredible in her insight and the way she finesses the complexities of a transgender teen's life all the while interrogating oft-held assumptions of the superhero genre. Parts of this story are very difficult to read but as Charlie Jane Anders says, "I didn't know how much I needed this brave, thrilling book until it rocked my world."

— From David

Description


An action-packed series-starter perfect for fans of The Heroine Complex and Not Your Sidekick.

"I didn't know how much I needed this brave, thrilling book until it rocked my world. Dreadnought is the superhero adventure we all need right now."--Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of Dreadnought, the world's greatest superhero. Until Dreadnought fell out of the sky and died right in front of her, Danny was trying to keep people from finding out she's transgender. But before he expired, Dreadnought passed his mantle to her, and those secondhand superpowers transformed Danny's body into what she's always thought it should be. Now there's no hiding that she's a girl.

It should be the happiest time of her life, but Danny's first weeks finally living in a body that fits her are more difficult and complicated than she could have imagined. Between her father's dangerous obsession with "curing" her girlhood, her best friend suddenly acting like he's entitled to date her, and her fellow superheroes arguing over her place in their ranks, Danny feels like she's in over her head.

She doesn't have time to adjust. Dreadnought's murderer--a cyborg named Utopia--still haunts the streets of New Port City, threatening destruction. If Danny can't sort through the confusion of coming out, master her powers, and stop Utopia in time, humanity faces extinction.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781682300688
ISBN-10: 1682300684
Publisher: Diversion Publishing - Ips
Publication Date: January 24th, 2017
Pages: 280
Language: English
Series: Nemesis