You are here

The Tombs of Atuan (Earthsea Cycle #2) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Tombs of Atuan (Earthsea Cycle #2) Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 10:31am

Staff Reviews

"I recently reread the books in Ursula Le Guin's Earthsea Cycle, and was once again delighted at the contrast between the first two installments. A Wizard of Earthsea (Book One) is both a prototype for and stereotypical of contemporary young adult fantasy (ahem, Harry Potter). It features a young man going off on adventures, brazenly using his skill to crash about in a world he little understands but is trying hard to. The Tombs of Atuan on the other hand is much slower and more contemplative in its tone. We follow Tenar through her life as the High Priestess to the Nameless Ones. It is a quiet and lonely life yet still full of danger and rivalries. Even when the action picks up later in the book it is more a quickening of Tenar's growth as a young woman as her world expands, and less the clash of steel or wizard staff. Ursula Le Guin is my favorite author and this is one of my favorite of her books. Highly recommended for readers who want to see fantasy do things they didn't know it could." -- Adelaide

— From Adelaide's Picks of 2017!


The Newbery Honor–winning second novel in the renowned Earthsea series from Ursula K. LeGuin gets a beautiful new repackage.

In this second novel in the Earthsea series, Tenar is chosen as high priestess to the ancient and nameless Powers of the Earth, and everything is taken from her—home, family, possessions, even her name. She is now known only as Arha, the Eaten One, and guards the shadowy, labyrinthine Tombs of Atuan.
     Then a wizard, Ged Sparrowhawk, comes to steal the Tombs’ greatest hidden treasure, the Ring of Erreth-Akbe. Tenar’s duty is to protect the Ring, but Ged possesses the light of magic and tales of a world that Tenar has never known. Will Tenar risk everything to escape from the darkness that has become her domain?
     With millions of copies sold worldwide, Ursula K. Le Guin’s Earthsea Cycle has earned a treasured place on the shelves of fantasy lovers everywhere, alongside the works of such beloved authors as J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis. Now the full Earthsea collection—A Wizard of Earthsea, The Tombs of Atuan, The Farthest Shore, Tehanu, Tales from Earthsea, and The Other Wind—is available with a fresh, modern look that will endear it both to loyal fans and new legions of readers.

About the Author

Ursula K. Le Guin (1929-2018) has published twenty-one novels, eleven volumes of short stories, four collections of essays, twelve books for children, six volumes of poetry, and four of translation, and has received the Hugo, Nebula, Endeavor, Locus, Tiptree, Sturgeon, PEN-Malamud, and National Book Award and the Pushcart and Janet Heidinger Kafka prizes, among others. In recent years she has received lifetime achievement awards from World Fantasy Awards, Los Angeles Times, Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association, and Willamette Writers, as well as the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America Grand Master Award and the Library of Congress Living Legends award. Le Guin was the recipient of the Association for Library Service to Children’s May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award and the Margaret Edwards Award. Her recent publications include the novel Lavinia, Words Are My Matter, an essay collection, and Finding My Elegy, New and Selected Poems. Her website is

Praise For…

"New and longtime Earthsea fans will be drawn to these impressive new editions."
Product Details
ISBN: 9781442459915
ISBN-10: 1442459913
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 11th, 2012
Pages: 224
Language: English
Series: Earthsea Cycle